Welcome to Comic Book Reading Orders!

The goal of this site is to be the most extensive resource for comic book reading orders on the internet.  We provide reading orders for characters and events from MarvelDC,  and other publishers.  Looking at the enormous number of comics that have come out in the last 70+ years and not knowing where to start can be daunting.  We hope with the orders provided on this site that we can make your comic reading experience easy and enjoyable.

Reading Orders
Reading Orders
Reading Orders
Reading Orders
News and the latest updates:

VenomverseAll-New, All-Different MarvelDark Nights: MetalSecret EmpireDC Rebirth

Reading Order Updates - Last  update  February 16,  2018

Feb. 16:  The All-New, All-Different Marvel reading order is complete and has been added to the site.  Trade Paperback reading orders have started to be posted for DC Events.  These orders can be found on the regular event pages alongside the single issue order.  New TPB orders will be added every few days.  DC events and characters will receive TPB reading orders first since the Marvel reading orders will also have links to Marvel Unlimited added and this takes more time.  Future event reading orders will be added once the event is over.

Marvel Event Update Status
DC Event Update Status
Dark Nights: Metal
Marvel Character Update Status
End of Secret Wars (2015)
DC Character Update Status
Beginning of DC Rebirth

Feedback Wanted:  We are looking for all types of feedback for the various reading orders on the site.  Did you use an order and like it?  Hate it?  Think it needs some changes?  We would like to hear from you so we can continue to improve the experience with the site.  Please use the Contact page and let us know.

On this site there are some very large reading orders.  The DC and Marvel Master orders both contain thousands of issues.  Some of the “Era” reading orders,  like Marvel NOW! and New 52,  also contain over a thousand issues.  Please do not think you need to read them all.  If you are a new reader I would never recommend them.  As a new comic reader I suggest picking a character reading order and starting there.

There is no large story weaving its way through these orders,  think of them simply as a history of the Marvel/DC universe.  If you do decide to read one of these orders I suggest simply skimming through them,  reading titles that interest you,  and not trying to read every issue.

Event Reading Orders

All tie-ins for each event are listed but if you’re not enjoying the tie-ins you should feel free to just read the main series for the event or only read the tie-ins for characters you are interested in.  Especially for older events,  if you haven’t been reading the tie-in series going into the event I suggest just reading the main series and skipping the tie-ins.  The main series of an event is usually enough to give you a complete picture of what is going on.  The event sections also include large “status quo” events,  such as Dark Reign following Secret Invasion and Shattered Heroes following Fear Itself.  These periods usually reveal the new status quo after a major event.

Character Reading Orders

The Character Reading Orders on this site are slightly different than usual.  They do not contain every issue relating to the character.  Some characters have 1000+ issues in their collective series and to be honest not all of them are worth reading.  So the Character Reading Orders only contain issues that are important for that characters development and issues that are recommended reading.  Don’t worry though,  all the important issues and legendary writer runs are still there.  Simply choose a character and begin reading.

Master Reading Orders

The Master Reading Orders are meant to cover the entire history of a particular comic universe.  We have Master Reading Orders for both Marvel and DC Comics.  They contain all comics that are deemed important or are just enjoyable to read.  Yes these orders start all the way at the beginning.  Even with the “bad” comics removed these orders are still several thousand issues long.  They encompass all characters and events.  If you choose to read one of these reading orders you should feel free to skip characters and events you have no interest in and focus on the ones you do.